2015 NNSW LHD Quality Awards Category Winners and Runners Up

Local Solutions Category - WINNER and OVERALL WINNER of the 2015 NNSW LHD Quality Awards

Prostate Intensity Modulated Radiotherapy (IMRT) in seven mouse clicks: Development, evaluation and implementation of a class solution across districts

Team: Ms Amara Fonseca, Mr David Sampson, Ms Kirsty Turnball, Ms Maree Wood, Mr Andrew Kovendy, Dr Justin Westhuyzen, Ms Josie Goodworth and Professor Tom Shakespeare

Right: *Ms Amara Fonseca accepting the Overall Winner 2015 NNSW LHD Quality Award Trophy form Dr Brian Pezzutti, Chair NNSW LHD Board*



Local Solutions Category - RUNNER UP

An Angio Delay Won't Keep the Doctor Away

Team: Mr Ryan Armstrong, Ms Denise Harris, Ms Shirley Walker, Ms Pamela Barrett, Ms Sonia Gould, Dr Abhay Daniel, Ms Vicki Harvey, The Tweed Hospital (TTH) Coronary Care Unit and the Patient Transport Unit.

Right: Ms Shirley Walker, Project Officer for the Whole of Hospital Program, The Tweed Hospital, accepting the Category Runner Up Trophy from Dr Alan Tyson, NNSW LHD Board Member.



Collaborative Team Category – WINNER

A Day on the Green

Team: Clarence Valley Mental Health Service

Right: Mr Darren Watts and Ms Samantha Osborne accepting the Category Winner Trophy on behalf of the Clarence Valley Mental Health Service from Ms Rosie Kew, NNSW LHD Board Member & Chair of the LHD Health Care Quality Committee



Collaborative Team Category - RUNNER UP

Collaborative Wound Care

Team: Staff of Urbenville Multi-Purpose Service

Right: Ms Sandra Reid accepting the Category Runner Up Trophy from Ms Rosie Kew, NNSW LHD Board Member & Chair of the LHD Health Care Quality Committee





Translational Research Category – WINNER

Biomarker of colon cancer to guide anti-cancer therapy

Team: Professor Michael McKay, Dr Huiling Xu, Dr Yuqian Yan, Ms Sandra Verschoor, Professor Rob Ramsay, Dr Shreya Sinnya and Dr Anne Warrell

Right: Mr Wayne Jones, Chief of Staff, accepting the Category Winner Trophy on behalf of Professor McKay and the Team, from Mr Steve Lutz and Ms Ms Gina Gyetvan from Cerner (Gold Sponsors)



Corporate Practice Improvement Category - WINNER

If You Don't Say, We Don't Know - Could This Be Compo?

Team: Ms Katrina Van Blanken, Ms Karen Richards, Ms Kathryn Zaknic, Ms Denise Grainger, Ms Beverley Guinea and Ms Gina Smith

Right: Ms Katrina Van Blanken accepting the Category Winner Trophy from Mr Neville Smith from Woollam Constructions (Gold Sponsors)



Preventative Health Category – WINNER

Use of e-newsletters to increase access to information about the importance of packing a nutritious healthy lunchbox

Team: Ms Maxine Molyneux and Ms Kate Collins

Right: Mr Graeme Turner accepting the Category Winner Trophy from Ms Annemarie O'Rouke & Ms Kirsty Fowler from SmartSalary (Gold Sponsors)



Clinical Practice Improvement Category - WINNER

A Day on the Green

Team: Clarence Valley Mental Health Service

Right: Mr Darren Watts and Ms Samantha Osborne accepting the Category Winner Trophy on behalf of the Clarence Valley Mental Health Service from Ms Rosie Kew, NNSW LHD Board Member & Chair of the LHD Health Care Quality Committee



Collaborative Team Category - WINNER

Drain The Pain: An Innovative Liver Project

Team: Ms Sarah Lawty, Northern Rivers Gastroenterologists, Ms Heather Gould, Medical Assessment Unit Nursing Staff and LBH Medical Assessment Unit Allied Health Staff

Right: Ms Sarah Lawty accepting the Category Winner Trophy from Dr Joe Ogg, NNSW LHD Board Member



Clinical Practice Improvement Category – RUNNER UP

Bee-Hive Yourself! Positive bee-haviours to promote coping in hospitalised children

Team: Ms Amanda Wilson, Ms Neroli Prestage, Dr Paul Murphy and Dr Penny Jones

Right: *Ms Neroli Prestage accepting the Category Runner Up Trophy from Dr Joe Ogg, NNSW LHD Board Member*



HIGHLY COMMENDED Projects 2015 NNSW LHD Quality Awards

Local Solutions Category – HIGHLY COMMENDED

Red cell transfusion pack : A grab and go resource

Team: Ms Dona Powell, Ms Sharyn Hurford, Mr Kevin King and Ms Karen Carter (Pathology North)

Right: *Ms Dona Powell accepting a Highly Commended Certificate from Dr Brian Pezzutti, Chair NNSW LHD Board*



Clinical Practice Improvement Category – HIGHLY COMMENDED

Improved outcomes for Peritoneal Dialysis post-operative Tenckhoff catheter exit site care at Lismore Base Hospital

Team: Lismore Base Hospital Peritoneal Dialysis Unit

Right: Ms Joanne Hancock accepting a Highly Commended Certificate from Dr Brian Pezzutti. Chair NNSW LHD Board



AND THERE'S MORE ... WINNER of the 2015 ACI Innovation Award

Drain The Pain: An Innovative Liver Project

Team: Ms Sarah Lawty, Northern Rivers Gastroenterologists, Ms Heather Gould, Medical Assessment Unit Nursing Staff and LBH Medical Assessment Unit Allied Health Staff

Right: Ms Sarah Lawty accepting the ACI Innovation Trophy from Mr Vahid Saberi, Chief Executive, North Coast Primary Health Network

The NSW LHD would also like to sincerely thank the 2015 Quality Awards SILVER SPONSORS...

Frigid-Air Pty Ltd Newton Denny Chapelle Trenches McKenzie Cox Office Warehouse Coridien Pty Ltd

