New Maclean Community Advisory Group

New Maclean Community Advisory Group

Northern NSW Local Health District (NNSWLHD) has established a new Community Advisory Group (CAG) for Maclean District Hospital, following expressions of interest received from around the local area.

The inaugural meeting was held on 7 May, and included presentations by NNSWLHD Chief Executive Wayne Jones and Dan Madden, Clarence Health Service General Manager. Due to COVID-19 restrictions, the first meeting was held via teleconference.

Seven community members have now been appointed to the Maclean CAG. They are: Megan Todd, Anne Farrell and Heulwen Carroll from Maclean, Trish Bowes of Yamba, Joy de Roos (Ilarwill), Christine Robertson (Woombah) and Wendy Crowley from Gulmarrad. Anne Farrell was elected inaugural Chair.

Mrs Farrell is a retired Nurse Manager of Maclean District Hospital and a passionate supporter of health care and the local community. She was awarded an Order of Australia Medal in 2006 and in 2012 was named Clarence Valley’s Woman of the Year.

“I am passionate about health and my community and was fortunate to have nursed for over 50 years with 43 of those at Maclean Hospital,” Mrs Farrell said.

“I look forward to representing health consumers and my community and to providing advice and support to the local health district in their decision making.”

NNSWLHD Chief Executive, Wayne Jones, said the group will provide important feedback and guidance to the Health District.

“We look forward to the input these community representatives will provide to help ensure we continue to meet the health needs of the local community,” Mr Jones said.

NNSWLHD also has community advisory groups in Clarence, Ballina, Lismore, Casino, Byron, Murwillumbah and Tweed.

For more information about Northern NSW Local Health District’s community engagement program, visit the NNSWLHD website.

Recent News:

Comments are closed.