Winners of the Premier’s Awards for Public Service announced

Winners of the Premier’s Awards for Public Service announced

The 2019 Premier’s Awards ceremony was held in Sydney last night, recognising the exceptional work being done by individuals and teams in the delivery of the Premier’s key priorities.

These priorities focus on building a strong economy, providing high-quality education, creating well connected communities, providing world class customer service, and tackling long standing social challenges. With over 200 nominations received from across the NSW public sector, there was a strong field of high performing finalists.

Speaking at the awards ceremony, NSW Premier Gladys Berejiklian congratulated the award winners and finalists.

“Almost 400,000 people work for the NSW Government, helping to shape this great state while providing vital services to its citizens,” Ms Berejiklian said.

“I thank each and every one of you for your professionalism and commitment to delivering the best outcomes for NSW.

“These awards acknowledge the importance of our public service and I congratulate all the award recipients and finalists.”


The 2019 Premier’s Award winners are:

  • Building a Strong Economy individual winner:
    • John Dinan, Roads and Maritime Services, Transport
  • Building a Strong Economy joint team winners:
    • Aboriginal Employment Strategy, Public Service Commission, Premier and Cabinet
    • Revitalising Newcastle, Transport for NSW, Transport
  • Providing High-Quality Education individual winner:
    • Mark Trebley, NSW Ambulance, Health
  • Providing High-Quality Education team winner:
    • School improvement through HSC performance, West Wallsend High School, Education
  • Creating Well Connected Communities joint team winners:
    • Bella Vista Public School shared sporting facilities, School Infrastructure NSW, Education
    • North West Metro, Sydney Metro, Transport
  • Providing World Class Customer Service individual winner:
    • Professor Kate Curtis, Illawarra Shoalhaven Local Health District, Health
  • Providing World Class Customer Service team winner:
    • Improving the Emergency Department Patient Experience, Ministry of Health, Health WATCH THE VIDEO HERE
  • Tackling Longstanding Social Challenges individual winner:
    • Elizabeth Ervine, Aboriginal Housing Office, Planning, Industry & Environment
  • Tackling Longstanding Social Challenges team winner:
    • Work and Development Order Scheme, Department of Communities and Justice, Department of Customer Service & Legal Aid NSW, Stronger Communities


Each year, the Anthea Kerr Award is presented to a future public sector leader who exhibits outstanding achievement and a deep commitment to public sector values in their work. This award is given in honour of Anthea Kerr, who passed away suddenly at 38 years of age. At the time of Anthea’s death, she was an Assistant Director General at the Department of Finance and Services, a role which was the culmination of an outstanding career of over 16 years in the NSW public sector.

The winner of the 2019 Anthea Kerr Award is:

Jane Turner, Sydney Local Health District, Health

Details on all the winners and finalists, as well as the Premier’s Priorities can be found at:

Recent News:

Comments are closed.