Wall of Fame honours Kyogle MPS campaigners

Wall of Fame honours Kyogle MPS campaigners
A group of volunteers whose decade-long advocacy helped to maintain local health services were honoured this week at Kyogle Multi-Purpose Service (MPS).

Member for Lismore, Thomas George, joined Northern NSW Local Health District Chief Executive, Wayne Jones, on 1 November to unveil a plaque on the new Wall of Fame at the Kyogle MPS.

The plaque recognises the outstanding contribution of the Kyogle Health Services Planning and Steering Committee in advocating for a Multi-Purpose Service at Kyogle. The Kyogle MPS was opened in November 2005.

Wayne Jones paid tribute to the founding members of the committee, Ruth Barringham, Joe Llewellyn, Mary Garred and Tom FitzGerald, OAM.

“I am delighted to formally recognise the tireless commitment and support Ruth, Joe, Mary and Tom provided in developing this magnificent facility for the Kyogle community,” Wayne Jones, Chief Executive NNSWLHD, said.
“This is a fantastic example of what can be achieved when dedicated community members and the Local Health District share common goals and work together.”

Committee chairperson Tom FitzGerald said he was pleased by today’s recognition.

“The Kyogle Community strongly supported the Steering Committee in their endeavours to obtain a new model of Health Care for Kyogle District,” Tom said.

Member for Lismore Thomas George said one of the first representations ever made to him when he was elected in 1999 was from Tom FitzGerald and the committee.

“At the time, the committee had been working hard to develop a plan and seek Government support for the Kyogle Multi-Purpose Service project.
“Since then it has been a privilege and an honour working with the committee and watching this important service take shape. The Kyogle community should take great pride in this achievement being documented at this facility.”

Pictured above, from left: NNSWLHD Chief Executive Wayne Jones, Director of Nursing MPS Network Nancy Martin, Committee member Mary Garred, Member for Lismore Thomas George and Committee chairperson Tom FitzGerald OAM.

Recent News:

Comments are closed.