2019 NNSWLHD Excellence in Nursing and Midwifery Awards

Winners list – Excellence in Nursing and Midwifery Awards


The annual Excellence in Nursing and Midwifery Awards acknowledge the contribution and dedication of nurses and midwives working across the Northern NSW Local Health District.

These awards recognise nurses and midwives for their excellence in practice and for the significant contribution that they make to their professions, their teams and the community through their practice, leadership and research endeavours.

This year the awards included a new category, the Consumer Appreciation Award which invites members of the public to nominate a nurse or midwife who has demonstrated outstanding patient care. The inaugural award was won by Debra Young, a midwife at Lismore Base Hospital.


Full list of winners 

Excellence in Management & Leadership – Meryl Brown Award
Winner: Nancy Martin, Executive Officer/Director of Nursing MPS Sites
Commendations: Leigh Hooton – Casino District Hospital; Helen Rowston – Murwillumbah District Hospital

Excellence in Clinical Leadership Award – Jane Ackerman Award
Winner: Sheridan Lowe, CNE, The Tweed Hospital

Consumer Recognition Award
Winner: Debra Young, RM Women’s Care Unit, Lismore Base Hospital
Commendations: Heike Luswal, Womens Care Unit – Lismore Base Hospital; Denise Clark, Kyogle MPS

Debra Young receiving the award


Excellence in Nursing/Midwifery – Assistant in Nursing/Assistant in Midwifery
Winner: Robin Stabler, Assistant in Midwifery, Women’s Care Unit, Lismore Base Hospital


Excellence in Nursing – Graduate Enrolled Nurse, Graduate Registered Nurse or Graduate Registered Midwife
Winner: Sally Smith, RN Surgical 1, The Tweed Hospital


Excellence in Nursing -Registered Nurse
Winner: Samantha Culver, Whole of Health, Lismore Base Hospital


Excellence in Midwifery – Registered Midwife
Winner: Vanessa Reidy, Women’s Care Unit, Lismore Base Hospital


Excellence in Nursing- Enrolled Nurse
Winner: Emmy-Lou Brettner, Casino District Memorial Hospital
Commendation: Shirley Roach- Casino District Memorial Hospital

Excellence in Innovation in Education Award
Winner: Noelene Williams, CNE Emergency, The Tweed Hospital


Excellence in Innovation in Research Award
Winner: Graham Turner, Renal Nurse Practitioner, Tweed


Excellence in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Healthcare- Ena Williams Award
Winner: Madeleine Richey, AIN, Aboriginal Cadet, Surgical Ward, Grafton Base Hospital.
Commendations: Sheridan Creighton, RN, Endoscopy – Lismore Base Hospital; Laurel Moore, Midwife – Grafton Base Hospital


Nursing and Midwifery Significant Contribution Award
Winner: Vicki Martin, RN Nimbin Multi-Purpose Site


Excellence in Person Centred Care – Board Recognition Award
Carly Boyle, CNS 2 Chronic and Complex Care, The Tweed Hospital


Best Poster and Best Paper Awards – Innovation Forum

Best Paper
Title “Insights Application”
Vicki Wale, Nurse Educator- MPS Sites and Nerida Adams, RN Lilli Pilli, Lismore Mental Health

Best Poster
Title – “Reducing falls and serious harm from falls”
Sebastian Pilon, Registered Nurse C7, Lismore Base Hospital