Our Board

The Northern NSW Local Health District (NNSWLHD) has been set-up in accordance with the National Health and Hospital Agreement.

The NNSWLHD Board is responsible for:
  • Improving local patient outcomes and responding to issues that arise throughout NNSWLHD.
  • Monitoring the performance of the District against performance measures in the NNSWLHD Service Agreement.
  • Delivering services and performance standards within an agreed budget, based on annual strategic and operating plans. This forms the basis of the NNSWLHD Service Agreement.
  • Production of Annual Reports that are subject to State financial accountability and audit frameworks.
  • Maintaining effective communication with local and State stakeholders, involving providers and the community in decisions that affect them
  • Ensuring effective engagement with our clinicians and staff
  • Establishing and overseeing an effective governance and risk management frame​work for the LHD
  • Ensuring high standards of professional and ethical conduct are upheld
  • Setting the LHD strategic priorities
  • Holding the LHD Chief Executive accountable for their performance

The Northern NSW Local Health District Board is chaired by Mr. Mark Humphries and ten Board Members who bring a wealth of experience and local knowledge to the management of our LHD.

NNSWLHD Board Members:

  • Mr Mark Humphries (Chair)
  • Dr John Moran AM
  • Mr Peter Carter
  • Dr Allan Tyson
  • Dr Alasdair Arthur
  • Ms Carolyn Byrne LL.B, GradDipLP, M.Ed, Grad Dip FET, BN.
  • Mr Michael Carter FCPA
  • Dr John Griffin JP PhD MJuris MEng BE Dip EE Dip ME CPEng FIEAust FAICD
  • Prof Susan Nancarrow BAppSc(Pod)(QUT), MAppSc(QUT), PhD(ANU), GAICD
  • Mr Patrick Grier

Northern NSW Local Health District Corporate Governance

Final NNSW LHD 20-21 Corporate Governance Attestation Statement 2021